Music Therapy

This morning I woke up like most mornings – wishing it was Friday and not ready to face all the work on my desk. But, when I turned on my car, one of my favorite songs was playing on the radio – so it put the biggest smile on my face.  All of a sudden, I was in the best mood.  Not that the music got me excited about work, but it did start my morning off with some good and positive energy.

The power of music amazes me.  It has a way of changing your state of mind, which makes music a very effective stress reliever.  It’s as if the lyrics and/or the tune just put you in a different state of mind.  Many people go to music for stress relief, but there is even research on “music therapy” as having many health benefits and easing pain, tension, and sleeplessness.  Who would have thought that just listening to music could be so beneficial?! 

I am not big on the latest bands and artists, but I can appreciate a good song when I hear one, and I can definitely dance to a good beat when one is playing! And, I’m sure we are all guilty of playing a song on repeat a million times, because we just can’t get enough of it.  Next time you feel a bit of stress, put on a good playlist or play a song on repeat…whatever it takes to ease your mind and put you in a better mood.  “If music is the medicine of the soul, let it play on.” (Unknown Playwright)

Leave a Reply

