Antioxidizing the Fish Tank

This morning I took out some blueberries to eat with my breakfast and the inside cover said “Start a healthy relationship with your body. Enjoy our blueberries! #1 Antioxidant.” I think it’s about time I start bringing nutrition into my blogs, because living in an unhealthy body is the easiest way to increase your stress levels and add unnecessary weight (as in pounds and burden!) to your life. So, since my blueberry box gave me such a great message this morning, I’m going to try to put more antioxidants into my diet.

In researching the benefits of antioxidants, I found an article that compares the human body to a fish tank. Basically, antioxidants enter our body and prevent the formation of harmful “gunk”, just like the bottom feeder fish cleans up the waste in the tank to prevent harm to the other fish. It sounds gross, but at the same time, sounds like a nice cleanse, right? The “gunk” in our bodies forms by the creation of free radicals, which are unstable molecules in the body that, in excess, can be extremely detrimental to our health. They can cause our cells to be weak, effecting our organs, tissues and skin. Antioxidants prevent the creation of these free radicals, by slowing down and preventing the oxidation of molecules.

I am a big believer in adding important vitamins and nutrients to your diet through food, rather than supplements.  Increase your antioxidant intake by adding healthy foods to your diet. This article that helped me research the benefits of antioxidants, also provides a list of foods that are good for your body.  You can see it at the following link: http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/health-benefits-of-antioxidants/   

Have a great weekend!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Power of Chocolate « A Daily Dose

Leave a Reply

